Monday, May 20, 2019

Summer Reading is Almost Here!

In case you did not know, the Teen Summer Reading Program starts on June 1st. Here's everything you need to know about it this year:




  • The theme this year is "A Universe of Stories," which means a lot of our programs are going to be space-related in some way. This could mean actual science or science fiction. 
  • To sign up for the teen program you have to be 13 and can't be older than 17. If you are still 12 you have to sign up for the kids program, and if you are already 18, you have to sign up for the adult program.
  • You have until July 13th to finish the program, and we won't accept any reading logs after that date.
  • To finish, you have 4 options:
    • Read 8 books.
    • Read 7 books and come to 1 library program.
    • Read 6 books and come to 2 library programs
    • Read 5 books and come to 3 library programs.
  • You can turn in 2 full reading logs and claim a prize and a raffle ticket for a $25 Walmart gift card drawing. After 2 logs you can keep reading to get more raffle tickets, but you can only claim a max of 2 prizes. 
  • You don't have to read library books, but you DO have to read books that are at your reading level.

This summer we are also trying to break last year's reading record. Last year the teens read a total of 655 book across the county. This year we want to try and read 700 books. Even if you don't read 8 books and finish a whole log, you can still count books read towards the goal and be entered into a special, separate raffle. 

So, what kind of programs will be offering? All kinds!

We'll have Virtual Reality games that have space themes, and every other week a Beat Saber tournament on the PS4 and Oculus Virtual Reality Systems. 
There will be all kinds of space themed crafts. 
We'll show space-themed movies for both Retro Movie day and New Movie day.
There will be a 3D print design contest where you can create your own aliens. 
And all kinds of other fun things to do in the teen rooms around the county. 
To see what is happening at the library closest to you, click this link for the ONLINE CALENDAR.

See you at the library!



Monday, May 13, 2019

What's New at the Library - Early May 2019

Looking for your next great read? Here are some books that have just arrived at the Yuma County Library District and why we think you should check them out today!

The Devouring Gray by Christine Lynn Herman: The very first book in a brand new series by a brand new author, The Devouring Gray centers around Violet, a girl whose family has moved her from the big city to a tiny town in the middle of the woods. As Violet struggles to make friends, she gets the feeling that some people in town are kind of afraid of her. Her family assures her it's only because her ancestors founded her new home town and so the locals are just treating them with old-fashioned respect... and then the first body is found. This book keeps getting compared to both Stranger Things and Riverdale, so if you like either or both of those shows, chances are you're going to love this one!


Heroine by Mindy McGinnis: Looking for a book that will gut punch you right in the feels? Pick this one up... and don't expect rainbows and butterflies. Mickey is an athlete with a chance to make history on her softball team until a car crash leaves her hurt and in tremendous pain. When she is prescribed pain killers, at first she feels great because the pills help her get back to her team, but where do you draw the line between taking medicine to feel well and taking it just because it feels... good. Where is the line between need... and addiction? And how do you stop yourself once the line is crossed and the downward spiral starts?


The Red Scrolls of Magic by Cassandra Clare and Wesley Chu: Fans of Mortal Instruments and Infernal Devices FINALLY have what they have been waiting for: a new book by Cassandra Clare! Co-written by the lesser know but not any less awesome Wesley Chu, this opening to a brand new series (called The Eldest Curses) centers around Magnus and Alec (from Mortal Instruments) who kind of just want a vacation. Of course, when you're a Shadowhunter, there's really no such thing, and their romantic Europen trip quickly turns into a fight against a deadly cult. If you ship Malec... you really can't NOT read this one, you know?

Monday, May 6, 2019

The Verdict Is In: Cheesecake is...

In the month of April, we asked teens to tell us what they thought about our question of the month: "is cheesecake really cake or is it pie?"

April question of the month.
People had VERY strong opinions about this, and voiced their thoughts on Intagram, Facebook and in person in the teen room. After we counted the votes, the decision is that Cheesecake is actually... both? The votes were EXACTLY divided down the middle with 7 people voting cake, 7 people voting pie, and a couple of people having completely weird answers like:

"It is neither."  - C. Howard.

"Cheesecake is cheesecake" - anonymous

"It's pudding" - anonymous



BUT, just in case you were wondering, according to dictionary.com, cheesecake really IS a cake. This is because the definition of pie tells us that in order for something to be a pie, it has to have a filling, and it has to have a crust made of pastry. Since cheesecake crust is cookie crumb, not pastry, it doesn't fit the definition.

So now you know!

We don't care if it's cake or pie, it's delicious either way!



Monday, April 22, 2019

Yuma LibraryCon Is Coming Soon!

I know you all wait for it every year! The 6th annual Yuma LibraryCon is just a few days away! This year it will be on May 4th from 10AM to 4PM in the Main Library. We have all kinds of amazing panels and guests coming, and of COURSE the Cosplay Contest! We hope you all can make it, it's seriously going to be the best one ever!

From northern Mexico, Hysterot Cosplay will be our special judges for the Cosplay Contest!

Author, puppet maker and video game character designer Matt Gardner will be here. 

We're accepting art for an art show at the Con. 

Fan-Quest Comics and Games are this year's comic book sponsor, which means you get free comic books!

Monday, April 1, 2019

April Poetry Contest!

April is National Poetry Month and to celebrate, the Main Library is hosting a poetry contest! Details are in the image below, but in case you can't see it well, here are the basics:

It's open to anyone ages 13-18.
The poem can be any style and doesn't have to rhyme. 
The poems can't be longer than 20 lines. 
You can turn in a poem that is either typed out or written by hand, but make sure we can read your handwriting if it's hand-written. 
You can pick up an entry form at the Main Library Teen desk.
Once poem will be featured on this blog each week, and one poem will be chosen as "best poem" by an anonymous vote. 
If your poem is chosen as a featured poem you will win a small prize. 
If your poem is chosen as the best poem you will win a slightly bigger prize. 

Get your entries in early! No poems will be accepted after the 26th. Voting opens in the teen room on the 29th of April and ends on May 4th, after Library Con. 


Monday, March 18, 2019

What's Coming Up At The Library

Hey everyone! We just wanted to let you know about some of the programs we have coming up for teens at the libraries in the next few weeks so you can plan to attend!


The Heritage Library has a writing group for teens that will meet on March 20th at 3:30 PM. All types and styles of writers are welcome, you just have to be between 13-18 years old. They'll also offer teen crafts twice this month - on March 22nd you can create designs with perler beads and on March 29th you can paint. Both of the craft programs are at 3PM. Ask for Cody to learn more about teen programs at the Heritage Library.


Foothills library is getting crafty this month too - you can learn rainbow looming on Saturday, March 23rd at 12:00 PM or you can try Origami on March 30th at noon as well. For more info on teen programs at Foothills, ask for A.J.


If card games are more your style, head over to the San Luis library on any Wednesday afternoon at 4:00 PM this month to play UNO with your friends. You can also watch movies and do crafts on Tuesdays at 3:00 PM. For more on programs for teens at San Luis Library, as; for Kathya.




Monday, March 11, 2019

Featured Artist: Sydney

Congratulations to this week's featured artist Sydney Lopez who drew us this amazing fan art of 707 from the game/visual novel Mystic Messenger. For those who don't know, visual novels are text-based games where you make choices and have character interactions which unlock parts of the story. They're super popular in Japan and Korea and are just making their way to the USA.

707 from Mystic Messenger by Sydney Lopez

If you want us to feature your art work, you can drop it off in person at the Main Library's Teen Room any time we're open, or e-mail us a high-res Jpeg or PNG file to teen@yumalibrary.org